Hoosier tyres on my +4

For those interested in competing 4 cylinder Morgans

Moderator: John Clarke

Jochem Kentgens

Hoosier tyres on my +4

Post by Jochem Kentgens »

Hi all,

Time is ticking away...In a week from now I will be doing the first metres at Zandvoort in #5719, the ex Carl Swanson’s 1966 championship car reincarnation, now built up as lowline SS spec car. see: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4chghqH6QMk

Now the car still has it's Hoosier tyres, which were new when I acquired the car a year ago in the US. These are the high profile US vintage racing tyres.

Anyone here any experience with these tyres, compared to Dunlop classics? Any warnings, recommendations, hear say?

In general, are tyres that are more than a year old safe on the race track?

Best wishes, Jochem
Andy Garlick

Re: Hoosier tyres on my +4

Post by Andy Garlick »

Jochem
I have no specific knowledge of Hoosier Tyres but they at least one type were reckoned to be "super sticky" softs in their day.
If more than 4 years old the rubber will have aged and they could have precious little grip, as rubber hardens with exposure to air. To be on the safe side I would tend to replace any tyres that you don't know the provenance of and use them later once you have established more of their history.
Are they cross ply or radials ? Dunlop L series racers are cross ply , and I have a feeling in the back of my mind that Hoosiers may be radials. Easy to check, look at the sizing.
Sorry that I can't be more specific.
Good luck at Zandvoort
Andy
Mogman
Chris Acklam
Anti spam question: MSA

Post by Chris Acklam »

Jochem Kentgens wrote:Now the car still has it's Hoosier tyres, which were new when I acquired the car a year ago in the US. These are the high profile US vintage racing tyres.
You can check exactly how the tyres are by looking at the code on the sidewall (see here). Worth doing, as sometimes tyres that are 'new' have been sitting around a dealer's rack for some time.