Quaife LSD

For those interested in competing 4 cylinder Morgans

Moderator: John Clarke

Andy Garlick

Quaife LSD

Post by Andy Garlick »

Guys
I am posting this on behalf of another Mog owner who does not frequent this forum.
He is awaiting a new LSD for his VVTi engined 4/4.
Billy Bellinger is trying to get a new batch of 10 Quaife LSDs made up and does not have enough orders as yet.
As I understand it (but I am no expert, and no doubt someone here will correct me if I am wrong ) this is the unit of choice for those running the Salisbury 7HA axle, as the old slipping clutch unit was neither reliable nor effective.
I think the cost was expected to be about £600 per unit.
Are there any takers from the historic +4 racers?
Regards
Andy
Mogman
Jim Mountain

Re: Quaife LSD

Post by Jim Mountain »

i'll give Billy a call

cheers
John Clarke
Anti spam question: MSA

Post by John Clarke »

Andy - good post - good to see someone is willing to take up the baton to get new parts made. I could be interested but wish to clear up the acceptance of a LSD by the FIA for historic Mogs. I have a number of copies of the original homologation papers (FIA nos 37, 64,128 - thanks Richard) but can find no reference to a LSD. Can someone point me to the papers I am missing where a LSD is listed?
All this FIA stuff is very confusing!
john
simon king

Post by simon king »

Hi John,

no LSD in the homologation papers for the Super Sports but within App K (http://argent.fia.com/web/fia-public.ns ... 6.2010.pdf) the Super Sports is classified as a 'Post 1946 Competition Grand Touring Car (GTS)' I believe and therefore 'Appendix IX - > Modifications authorised for Cars of period E, F and G1 for Competition Touring Cars and Competition Grand Touring Cars' also applies and here it says re a Differential
"A limited slip differential of a type conforming to a period specification for that model may be used."

What is 'period specification' though in this case?

Cheers,

Simon
Mark Shears