Lack of Knowledge

Race chatter
Bob Bull

Lack of Knowledge

Post by Bob Bull »

Now as most of you know, I am not an expert on Morgans, and therefore do not understand much of the terminology used in their use and maintainence. While browsing through the 'How Do I' section recently, (the way you do) I came across a number of mystifying expressions, which I hope some kind soul might care to explain to a mere photographer like myself. I fully understand that some may require a degree of confidentiality so for the more dubious terms, please see me at the BDC.

1) "leaky nose diff" Surely the purchase of a handkerchief would be advisable.

2) "Trailer bed". For what purpose would you require such an item at a race meeting? The mind boggles :oops:

3) Robin Singleton mentions having a "17 inch one". Is this just boasting or do I misunderstand.

4) Richard Smith had his "tubeless facility removed". Does this affect his Oyster Card, and does Boris Johnson know about it?

5) Jack warned about "rear spring front bushes", yet I assumed that Sally did the gardening. Is 'rear spring' actually summer? (remember those?)

6) Some one had a 'Mallory Coil' fitted. Is this something else I am confusing with more intimate items?

7) A Mr. Martin apparently has an 'empty silencer'. If he is a 'hitman' this is presumably a severe handicap, but it could refer to a hungry other half. Explanation needed.

8) Andrew Faulds wants to replace a 'fan belt'. When I was young girls through their knickers on to the stage, but belts??? Weird.

9) Finally (and I will not name the culprit) one poster declared that "Melvyn only had a small item". Sneaky peeking in the gents I suppose.

Naturally I am sure there is a completley innocent explanation for all of the above, but it does highlight the need for discretion when asking for help on this Forum. There is always someone who will take things the wrong way.

Puzzled of Luton.
Ace Photograp…… you know!
Regards
Robin Singleton
Anti spam question: MSA